Day 61 – Money

Arrrg, the damn origami paper I ordered from amazon still hasn’t arrived ☹, its four days overdue at this point. So I e-mailed the seller and hopefully they respond soon, I don’t want to have to fold too many paper cranes at once.

Okay, so I had a shower thought yesterday. I really should be writing these after thinking in the shower, but I guess just writing down my ideas from the day before works too. Anyways, the thought I had yesterday was, what would you do if money was no object. I think this will become a very important question in the near future as Universal Basic Income comes into effect.

As for me, I don’t think I would be working if money was no object. Just spending my entire life wandering the world, with all of my belongings in a backpack. Hell, I probably can do this for a few years after graduating. But the sad thing about that plan is, if I spend two years travelling the world after graduating, I will have to work for much harder and save much more money in order to retire at the same age. I also might forget some things I have learned and make job hunting harder after two years.

When you’re young, you have the energy and time, but not the money to do what you want. When you’re working, you have the energy and money, but not the time to do what you want. And when you are old, you have the time and money, but not the energy to do what you want.

The previous passage was very prevalent on the internet, but it doesn’t have to be that way. As I talked about before, it’s very possible to retire early enough to still have the energy.

I’m not sure about my plan now to be honest, I might just spend a few months travelling after graduating. Or try to travel as much as I can through co-op. Or retire three to four years later and travel for two years. I don’t know, there’s so many choices now, definitely much harder than the set schedules we had as children :/.

IMG_20170718_214450.jpg

Leave a Reply

